DailyMent | Read, Learn, Enjoy And Share

MS Dhoni Received The Country’s Third Highest Civilian Award ‘Padma Bhushan’.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, former captain of the Indian Cricket Team, received the country’s third highest Civilian Award ‘Padma Bhushan‘ on Monday by the president Ram Nath Kovind, at Rashtrapati Bhawan. The crown broker to thunderous applause when he marched in like an army man wearing Lieutenant-colonel Uniform to receive his award. The honorary rank of Lieutenant colonel was conferred to Dhoni in 2011 by the Indian Territorial Army, just after Indian won their second world cup under his leadership. Coincidentally he received this prestigious award exactly after 7 years of the ICC World Cup Win against Sri Lanka at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Indian skipper, M.S Dhoni, was born on 7th July, 1981 in Ranchi, that time Bihar now in Jharkhand. He began his career in 1988 by playing for Bihar U-19 team and in 2004 he made his first ODI debut to play for the Indian Cricket Team against Bangladesh. In 2007, he took over the ODI captaincy of Rahul Dravid and was the captain dated from 11th of Sep 2007 to 4th of Jan 2017, and in Test Cricket from 2008 to 2014. He is considered as the most successful Indian Captain in the cricket history ever. He is the only skipper to win all the ICC trophies including ICC Cricket World Cup, World Cup Twenty 20 and the Champions Trophy. He led India to the top of the Test rankings. His Test Cricket and One-day International records are the best among all Indian Captains till date. He was also awarded with ICC ODI player of the year in 2008 & 2009 (first player to win it twice), the Rajiv Gandhi khel Ratna Award in 2007, and the Padma Shri, India’s forth highest Civilian Award in 2009. He announced his retirement from Test Cricket in 2014.

MS Dhoni is the second after Kapil Dev to receive the Padma Bhushan award. Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and MOS Home Kiren Rijiju were also present in the occasion. Along with Dhoni, Pankaj Advani also received this award.