DailyMent | Read, Learn, Enjoy And Share

Common Wealth Games- The Real Battle, Devotion and Justice.

The commonwealth games started in 1930, and it’s a multi-sport event in which athletes from commonwealth of Nations participates and it has taken in every four years since 1930, In Recent times in 1930-1950 it was known as the British Empire Games, while in 1954-1966 it was known as the British Empire and commonwealth Games and finally British commonwealth Games from 1970-1974, Although there are 53 members of the commonwealth of nations, 71 teams participate in the commonwealth Games , as a number of dependent territories compete under their own flags. The four Home Nations of the United Kingdom- England, Scotland, Wales and North Ireland- also send separate teams.

The games are overseen by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF), which also controls the sporting programme and selects the host cities. This games movement consists of international sports federations, commonwealth Games Association (CGAs), and organizing committees for each specific commonwealth Games.

British Empire Games– The commonwealth games were earlier known as the British Empire Games, and were held in Hamilton, in Canada from 16-23 August 1930. The opening and closing ceremonies as well as athletics took place at civic stadium. The participants Nations were Australia, Bermuda, British Guyana, Canada, England, Northern Ireland, Newfoundland, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa and Wales. Secondly, In 1934 Commonwealth games were known as the British Empire Games which were held in London, England, and the participants were Hong Kong, India, Jamaica, Southern Rhodesia and Trinidad and Tobago And the third time in 1938 the British Empire Games were held in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. The Fourth Edition of commonwealth Games in 1950 was held at Auckland, New Zealand. Fifth Edition was held in 1954 at Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. These were the first time when the name of British Empire games changes into Commonwealth Games. Sixth Edition of the games marked the largest sporting events which were held in 1958 at British Empire and Commonwealth Games. The 1962 British Empire and commonwealth games were held in Perth, Western Australia, Australia. Now we had talked about late 20th century. Now if we talk discuss about 21st century the commonwealth games turned in a different shape. The 2002 Commonwealth Games were held in Manchester, England. The 2002 Games were to be hosted in England to coincide with the Golden jubilee of Elizabeth II, head of the commonwealth . The commonwealth in 2006 held at Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. And the main difference between 2006 games and 2002 games were the absence of Zimbabwe. The commonwealth game of 2006 were held in Delhi, India and in 2014 it were held in Glasgow, Scotland and then the game continued to be till 2018. Now in 2018 its 24th edition of the commonwealth games or we can say British Empire Games.The 2018 Commonwealth Games are currently being held in Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia. Australia is hosting the games for the fifth time. There are an equal number of events for men and women, the first time in history that a major multi-sport event has equality in terms of events. The 2022 Commonwealth Games will be held in Birmingham, England. They will be the third Commonwealth Games to be hosted in England following London 1934 and Manchester 2002.

This was the complete history of British Empire games. Now we discuss about the types of games in it.
1.Paraplegic games:- It is Multi-Sport Involving athletes with a disability from the commonwealth countries. The event was sometimes referred to as the Paraplegic Empire Games and British Commonwealth Paraplegic Games. Athletes were generally those with spinal injuries or polio. The event was first held in 1962 and disestablished in 1974.

2.Inclusion of para-sports– Athletes with a disability were then first included in exhibition events at the 1994 Commonwealth Games in Victoria, British Columbia,[33] and, at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester, England, they were included as full members of their national teams, making them the first fully inclusive international multi-sport games. This meant that results were included in the medal count.

3.Winter games:- The Commonwealth Winter Games were a multi-sport event comprising winter sports, last held in 1966. Three editions of the Games have been staged. The Winter Games were designed as a counterbalance to the Commonwealth Games, which focuses on summer sports, to accompany the Winter Olympics and Summer Olympic Games. The winter Games were founded by T.D. Richardson.

4.Youth Games:- The Commonwealth Youth Games are an international multi-sport event organized by the Commonwealth Games Federation. The games are held every four years with the current Commonwealth Games format. The Commonwealth Games Federation discussed the idea of a Millennium Commonwealth Youth Games in 1997. In 1998 the concept was agreed on for the purpose of providing a Commonwealth multi-sport event for young people born in the calendar year 1986 or later. The first version was held in Edinburgh, Scotland from 10 to 14 August 2000. The age limitation of the athletes is 14 to 18.